Petition Submission

Once the Board’s By-Laws proposal was voted down, it was time to submit the petitions I collected. I had set up a site to show all the proposals and collect the signatures. That way, all the emails would be the same, and I automatically created the spreadsheet that is required to go along with the submissions. In addition to the person’s name, email address, and ISC2 number, I captured the date and time of the submission along with the origin IP address, just in case there was any suggestion of forgery. On December 19th, I submitted a little over 530 signatures. This is after removing duplicate and incomplete signings.

On December 22nd, I received an email from Clar Rosso, the ISC2 CEO wanting to set up time to chat. I had spoken with her once before during the election and was happy to do so again. I arranged to and did speak with her on December 27th. A summary of that conversation is here.

On January 10th, 2023, I once again spoke with Clar Rosso. I was informed that only 498 of the 530 or so signatures that I submitted were valid. I noted that I had collected at least 30 more in the interim and would gladly submit those. I was certain that at least 2 were valid. I was told to hold off as they would need to consult with their lawyers as to whether or not multiple submissions would be allowed (the By-Laws are silent on this issue). I was also invited to meet with her at the Alexandria, Virginia headquarters on January 31st. Prior to attending the meeting I received an email from Ms. Rosso informing me that The Chairperson of the Board of Directors would also be attending. They would also be providing me a copy of some documents for which I was asked to sign a Non-Disclosure Agreement. Note that I was not asked to keep this meeting secret, nor did she state the NDA covered anything but the documents.

On February 1st, after the meeting of the day before, I posted a summary to Reddit. Please click through to read it there. Three days later, I received an email from Graham Jackson, ISC2 General Counsel, that was a “Notice of Breach and Demand to Cease and Desist”. I made a preliminary reply to get more time for a formal response and then went about finding a lawyer to assist me. You can read a whole lot more of that saga in the this post on Reddit. Note that the post contains links to copies of the Breach notice as well as responses from my lawyer. As of today, this matter has not yet been settled. As far as I am concerned, I have done nothing wrong. As noted in the response, I did not reveal anything that was confidential.

One thing to add is that at the meeting on the 31st, they informed me that after a second review of the submissions, there were indeed at least 500 valid signatures. That meant that the Chairperson had until May 1st to announce a date for a special meeting of the members to vote on them. Future posts will discuss what is happening with regard to that.

One response to “Petition Submission”

  1. […] the petitioner. This is not strictly true. The only meeting was the one referred to in my prior post in this blog. It was only with the CEO, the Board chair, and a lawyer. The Board as a whole did not […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started